crochet, Uncategorized

Help! Photography is not one of my talents!

I love crochet, making something functional out of a ball of yarn and a hook is satisfying! What is not so satisfying is when I come to share my creations over on facebook…

I look at the item with my eyes and it looks fab but on the screen it looks wonky, washed out or any tiny imperfection jumps up to say hello!! I am not a photographer beyond point and click with my phone but even so how do I get it so wrong lol

Any useful tips much appreciated!

Here are some examples of my less than stellar snaps!

Give me something to make or a body in pain to fix and I am your gal, but something that in my head should be relatively simple is just frustrating!

If you gave any easy tips or tricks to point me in the right direction please comment!

7 thoughts on “Help! Photography is not one of my talents!”

  1. I too have this issue, but one thing people tell me is taking a picture outside with a model helps grab the attention of the viewer.

    I don’t know if this helps but I’ve tried this and I tend to get more views. I guess it helps people visualize what it would look like on.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I think those are great ideas! Keep it up, overall though I don’t see any issues with your photos as they are.

        I bought foam heads from Michael’s and I’ve seen people make their own busts out of cardboard. I think they have foot molds you can use to model your sandals and such. I buy a bunch of my stuff from Amazon, they tend to have everything 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Thank you again, I look at other crochet photos and they are amazing and want to capture how nice the items are I considered a foam head but would have to use amazon as UK not great for craft supplies or not that I have found yet!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Those barefoot Sandels are so cute!! It took me a while but the biggest tip was to get a decent camera like an iPhone 5 (at first I used a cheap smart phone from Walmart that had no zoom, no focus just no good) use natural light, preferably take your photos by a window but avoid direct light. You’ll need to learn about white balance – and a clean background so the focus is on those gorgeous stitches! Try not to make the photo too “busy”. Also a light box is the best thing I can’t suggest it enough it will save you months of frustration 💕 I hope that helps you share your beautiful creations

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment